Mar 11 – 15, 2024
University of The Bahamas
America/Nassau timezone

The purpose of the conference Black Holes & Cosmology is to bring together world-renowned experts as well as junior researchers working on theoretical and observational aspects of black holes, particularly (but not limited to) their rôle in cosmology.

Topics include:

  • Dark Matter
  • Structure Formation
  • Primordial Black Holes
  • Gravitational-Wave Astronomy
  • Quantum Aspects of Black Holes

This event will take place at the University of The Bahamas in Nassau between the 11th and 15th of March 2024. We look forward to meet you!

The opening talk of the conference will be given by Nobel Laureate Professor Reinhard Genzel (Director of the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics).

Amidst the conference, on Thursday the 14th of March at 16:00 local time, there will be a public lecture on "Dark Matter in the Universe", held by Professor Katherine Freese (The University of Texas at Austin; Member of the National Academy of Sciences of The United States of America).

The conference poster can be downloaded here.

Invited Speakers:

  • Andreas Albrecht (UC Davis)
  • Earl Bellinger (Yale University)
  • Gianfranco Bertone (University of Amsterdam, GRAPPA)
  • Alessandra Buonanno (AEI & University of Maryland)
  • Matt Caplan (Illinois State University)
  • Nico Cappelluti (University of Miami)
  • Bernard Carr (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Gia Dvali* (MPP & LMU Munich)
  • Alexander Dolgov (Novosibirsk State University & University of Ferrara)
  • Glennys Farrar (New York University)
  • Carlos Frenk (Durham University)
  • Juan García-Bellido (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
  • Reinhard Genzel (MPE)
  • Michael Hawkins (Royal Observatory, Edinburgh)
  • Shirley Ho* (Flatiron Institute)
  • David Kaiser (MIT)
  • Sasha Kashlinsky (NASA)
  • William Kinney (University at Buffalo)
  • Julien Lavalle (University of Montpellier)
  • Michela Mapelli (Centre for Astronomy of Heidelberg University)
  • Deyan Mihaylov (Case Western Reserve University)
  • Emil Mottola (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
  • Samaya Nissanke (University of Amsterdam, GRAPPA)
  • Malcolm Perry (DAMTP, University of Cambridge)
  • Hernando Quevedo (National Autonomous University of Mexico)
  • Pearl Sandick (University of Utah)
  • Subir Sarkar (University of Oxford)
  • Ravi Sheth (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Joseph Silk (IAP, Johns Hopkins University, University of Oxford)
  • Lárus Thorlacius (University of Iceland)
  • Mark Trodden (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Hai-Bo Yu (UC Riverside)


Organisational Committee:

  • Florian Kühnel (MPP & LMU) [Chair]
  • Katherine Freese (UTAUS)
  • Eduardo Guendelman (BGU & FIAS & BASIC)
  • Pandora Johnson (UB)
  • Alexander Kashlinsky (NASA)
  • Claude McNamarah (UB)
  • Remo Ruffini (UNIROMA1)
  • Carlton Watson (UB)


  • BASIC = Bahamas Advanced Study Institute and Conferences
  • BGU = Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
  • FIAS = Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies
  • LMU = Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
  • MPP = Max Planck Institute for Physics
  • NASA = National Aeronautics and Space Administration
  • UB = University of The Bahamas
  • UNIROMA1 = Università Roma La Sapienza
  • UTAUS = The University of Texas at Austin


Partly sponsored by:

University of The Bahamas
N, 4912, University Drive, Nassau, Bahamas
Go to map